Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Ryan Villopoto Won't Defend Outdoor Title

According to a release from Kawasaki, Ryan Villopoto will not return to defend his 2012 outdoor motocross title after suffering a knee injury on Saturday night at the Seattle Supercross, April 21.

During the first lap of the main event, Villopoto washed out and injured the knee. After the race, the team seemed to think he was okay, but further examination revealed that the injury is far worse than first thought. Word has it that the knee actually "popped out" and is the same knee he had surgery on a few years ago, which also knocked him out of the outdoor series.

Here is the release from Kawasaki:

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto will not defend his AMA Motocross title in 2012 after injuring his knee at the Seattle supercross on Saturday night. The two-time AMA Supercross and defending AMA Motocross champion will undergo surgery on his knee this week.

“I’m pretty disappointed right now,” said Villopoto. “I have trained hard for this season and even though I won the supercross title, I really wanted to defend my outdoor championship. I’ve been through injury before and I know how hard I have to work to get back.”

Villopoto is coming off of a dominant 16 months where the Poulsbo, Wash. native earned two AMA Supercross titles on the strength of 15 wins, the AMA Motocross Championship with three wins and also the richest payday in supercross with a million dollar win at the Monster Energy Cup.
(Article from Cycle News.)

Friday, April 6, 2012

News: Connor Penhall Killed in Traffic Accident

According to reports on Los Angeles television station KTLA, Connor Penhall - the son of former World Speedway Champion Bruce Penhall - was killed last night by a suspected drunk driver on the 10 Freeway in Baldwin Park, California.

Penhall, 21, was working as a subcontractor for Caltrans when he was struck on the side of the freeway. Connor and his older brother, Ryan, both race motorcycles. Connor was employed by a concrete cutting company.

Read the rest of the story on Cycle News

Our condolences go out to the Penhall family and friends

Monday, April 2, 2012

Vid: 2012 AMA Supercross in Houston Rd 13

Missed the action from the main event this past weekend? Here's your chance to catch up on the action!

2012 AMA Hall of Fame Nominees

The 2012 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame nominees are (alphabetically):

Mark Buckner - National/international motorcycling rights advocate, past state coordinator for ABATE of Colorado, past board member/president/chairman of the Motorcycle Riders Foundation.

Rod Bush (d. 2005) - Industry leader as former president of KTM North America and member of KTM worldwide board of directors, former member of AMA Board of Directors.

Derek "Nobby" Clark -- Factory mechanic and tuner for numerous World Grand Prix roadracing championships and Daytona 200 and Imola 200 victories from the 1960-80s.

Ty Davis - Multiple championships in AMA Grand National Enduro, AMA National Hare & Hound and Baja 1000, 1990 125cc Supercross champion, multitime ISDE gold medalist and top American.

Skip Eaken - Tuner/builder for riders who finished first in dozens of AMA Grand National Dirt Track competitions, crew chief for three AMA Grand National Championships and an AMA Superbike Championship.

Jimmy Ellis - First AMA Supercross Series champion and multitime motocross champion.

Sue Fish - A pioneer of professional women's motocross racing in the 1970s and '80s, multitime Women's World Champion and two-time Superbowl of Motocross champion.

Louis Gerencer - Multitime National Hillclimb champion and past president of the Hillclimbers Association.

Charles Gustafson Sr. (d. 1951) - Indian chief engineer who developed the first side-valve engine that debuted in 1916, and is also credited with developing the first kickstarter.

Tommy Hays - (d. 1941) The dominant TT rider of the pre-Grand National Championship era who won numerous AMA National Championships in four years.

Jack Johnson - Multitime desert racing champion with numerous Baja 1000 wins, silver and gold International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) medalist.

Ron Lechien - 1983 AMA Rookie of the Year, 1985 125 Motocross National Champion, multitime USGP winner, numerous outdoor national motocross wins and Supercross wins.

Bob Leppan - World's fastest motorcyclist 1966-1970 who directed the team that set the 2007 land speed record for production motorcycles.

John Long - Bonneville Land Speed record holder, five-time U.S. Team member for Anglo-American Match Races, numerous starts in AMA national roadraces and Daytona 200s.

Dennis Mahan - Mechanic for numerous dirt-track, motocross and roadracing champions, first U.S Motocross des Nations team manager, industry racing manager and product specialist.

Rob Muzzy - Engine builder/tuner, crew chief, team owner and businessman with numerous AMA roadracing, drag racing, dirt-track and motocross titles and Daytona 200 wins, a World Superbike Championship and a Suzuka 8-hour endurance championship.

Don Pink - (d. 1984) Dominant 1940s competitor in numerous disciplines, AMA congressman, founder of the New York State Dealers Association and the NY/NJ Metropolitan Sports Committee.

Randy Renfrow - (d. 2002) Multitime AMA National road racing champion, winner of numerous AMA national races, and a consistent winner in 250 GP racing.

Jarno Saarinen - (d. 1973) Finnish roadracing world champion and the first European to win the Daytona 200.

Brian Slark - England-born motocross organizer in the 1960s, imported/built Rickman, Metisse and Cheney motocrossers and helped establish the Mungenast and Barber motorcycle museums.

Rodney Smith - Multiple championships in AMA Grand National Cross Country, AMA National Hare Scrambles and AMA National Reliability Enduro, multitime ISDE gold medalist and top American, third in 1988 FIM 125cc World Motocross Championship.

Gloria Struck - North American and European world traveler and motorcycling ambassador, Motor Maids member since 1946.

Charlie Vincent - Top 1960s off-road racing competitor in the eastern United States, ISDT gold medalist and AMA congress delegate.

Lance Weil - (d. 2006) Roadracer, mechanic, designer, fabricator and businessman, competed in Europe and the Isle of Man, and the founder of Rickey Racer.

Al Wilcox (d. 2011) - Life member of the AMA and the Mid-Atlantic Road Racing Club who flagged AMA races for 50 years (and WERA for 30), including 15 years at Daytona.

Gene Wirwahn - Credited with building the foundation for the AMA's government relations advocacy efforts, championed numerous legislative victories and actively promoted responsible riding on behalf of the AMA and the FIM.

In the coming weeks, six new members representing the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2012 will be elected from these nominees -- three from non-competition categories and three from competition categories. The Hall of Fame class of 2012 will be announced this summer, and the new members will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a gala ceremony on November 16 at the Red Rock Casino, Resort & Spa in Las Vegas, Nevada, during the AMA Legends Weekend. Ticket information will be announced soon at

Read the article on CycleNews